Menu Close

Barbara Sugg

Barbara Sugg is Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Security Officer at Southwest Power Pool, Inc., located in Little Rock, Arkansas.  She joined SPP in 1997 as a Senior IT Specialist, focused on application development and support.  She has been a member of the SPP management team since 1999, and accepted the position of Vice President, Information Technology, in 2010.  Her responsibilities in this role include directing the development, architecture, implementation, monitoring, security, and telecommunications services provided by SPP to its member utility companies across a 14-state footprint.  In 2016, Barbara assumed the additional role of Chief Security Officer and created new teams responsible for cyber security as well as IT compliance and governance.  Barbara is responsible for establishing IT strategy and policies, developing the leadership team, and representing her department at the Executive level within SPP.  The IT department has approximately 160 employees under her direction.

Barbara has 29 years of IT experience in the electric utility industry.  She interfaces directly with SPP’s members and customers, serving both as a participant and leader on various working groups and committees within SPP.  She represents SPP in the ISO/RTO Council’s IT Committee and has been involved in various NERC working groups throughout her career.  In February 2017, Barbara represented the ISO/RTO Council in testifying before the United States House Energy and Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on Energy at a hearing titled “The Electricity Sector’s Efforts to Respond to Cybersecurity Threats”.  She has represented SPP at numerous state-level legislative committee meetings discussing similar topics and is a member of the local FBI Executive Advisory Board as well as multiple other volunteer organizations.

Barbara earned a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in 1986 and completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School in 2013.